Try

What do you want to be?
Where do you want to go in life?
Are you there yet?
These are good questions, not only for our sanity, but also for our soul.
Whatever we want to be, or where ever we want to get to in life is very important to each of us, but to start we have to try.
It sounds a little obvious that we need to try to get anything we want, but, for some the fear of failing is so overwhelming that they are not willing to try in the first place.
The fear is real, and it is also valid, lets look at starting your own business. One half of new businesses will fail within the first five years, that is a fact.
Why do they?
That will vary greatly, not enough capital to start with, poor management and or investment decisions, I don’t know, I am not an economist, I am a writer.
So what fear does a writer have?
Rejection is a big one, and some can’t get past it, I wrote a book, “The Teapot And The Trumpet” I sent out my query letters, it really is a great book. Let me tell you that first rejection letter hurt so bad, I was down on the ground and they where counting me out, and I almost gave in, but then I thought why should I? If I am one thing, it is resilient, I wont give them the satisfaction. I am trying to get that book traditionally published and I will continue to try until it is, and it will be.
My point is, when we try something where there is any kind of risk involved, there most certainly is going to be some kind of pain, but just because it hurts, does not mean we are going to die, hopefully we will become stronger from it and more savvy to how the process works, whatever the process happens to be.

So let’s go forth, and go after our dreams and desires and don’t give up on them, ever. It is an investment in ourselves which can reap great returns on that investment, even if nothing comes from our efforts, we do not fail as long as we take the first step and,
TRY.

2 responses to “Try

  1. I’ve nominated you for the Sunshine award since I love your blog! Great job, keep up the good work 🙂 http://staceykatheryn.wordpress.com/2013/03/21/sunshine-award/

  2. Thank you Stacey 🙂

Leave a Reply

