There’s The Elevator, No Thanks, I Will Take The Stairs

We are human beings, it is in our nature to solve problems, to find easier ways of doing things. It is that and opposable thumbs that separate us from all the animals on earth. Sometimes though,  it is better for us to do things the hard way, and here is why.

For starters it builds character and gives us a respectable amount of self-worth. Anything worth doing is worth doing right, especially when it is our work that we are talking about.
It really doesn’t matter if it is our written works, our art, our music, or our hobbies, we usually don’t take short cuts, or our work will suffer.

When we are doing these things we don’t look for short cuts because we want our work to be good and shared throughout the world.

Another reason for doing things the hard way is because that is how we learn to do things. I am going to be talking about writing here now, but you can insert “your own work” in place of writing.
Here I stand, one book ready to be published, and a new novel being written.
On one side of me I have people who have become friends of mine, who are published authors, both indie and traditional. These people have connections to literary agents and publishers, people who could certainly make getting published easier, the “elevator to the top”

On the other hand I have the stairs, with a lot of steps, and I cannot see the top.   I have a great support system in place with the same aforementioned people, and I am thankful for that.

Climbing these stairs will be strenuous to say the least. But the knowledge I will gain taking the stairs, will be invaluable in the future. If I take the elevator I will learn next to nothing on how to become a published author, and what will happen the next time I am ready to publish? I can’t rely on others to get this done for me, this is something I need to do for myself.

There is the elevator, no thanks, I will take the stairs.

10 responses to “There’s The Elevator, No Thanks, I Will Take The Stairs

  1. Well said Y Chromie, the journey there itself is half the adventure!

  2. Hey Gemma, that’s exactly right
    Thanks for taking the time to stop by 🙂

  3. This is fantastic, Jim! Love your blog!

  4. Hey Rayne,
    It really means a lot to me that people like what I do here, thank you.
    Thanks for stopping by 🙂

  5. Fantastic post – Anything worth having takes time and energy, otherwise, you wouldn’t have incentive to write better, polish more, or be more creative, right? Great post!

  6. Hey Melissa,
    it certainly does and I wouldn’t want it any other way personally 🙂
    Thanks for coming by 🙂

  7. Been taking those stairs for years now. Whew! Certainly works up a sweat. LOL

  8. Hey livvy,
    Welcome to my blog, I hope you enjoy what you find here.
    A good friend of mine told me a while back when I started querying agents to “tie those shoes up tight and hang on” So I am on those stairs shoes tied tight taking one step at time.
    Thanks for stopping in Livvy, I hope to see you again 🙂

  9. Jim,
    your blog is so creative and inspirational. I love your post! It is amazing!

    Sylvia

  10. Hey Syl,
    Thank you, I am glad you enjoyed it
    Thanks for stopping in 🙂

Leave a Reply

