Times Change

When I was a kid we played outside all the time it really was our only option, we didn’t have cell phones or the internet, hell we didn’t even have cable tv.
Our music came on vinyl disks called records, or on an eight track tape, if you were lucky enough to own one.

If we wanted to go see a movie we could not just order any movie we wanted, we had to beg mom and dad to go to the drive in and deal with hot summer nights, and the bugs that fly through it.

If we wanted or needed a book we would have to go to the library to get it, and for goodness sake, you had better not forget to tell mom or dad when it was due, because although fifteen cents wasn’t a big fine, being responsible for what you borrowed was.

The ice cream trucks that drove through the neighborhood required no more than twenty-five cents to get anything on the truck.

Ok I am not that old I am 43, even though I might sound like your great-grandfather so far,
“back in my time”

Times certainly have changed, and although I do miss some things from when I was younger, I am not complaining here.

I am a complete technology nerd, I love the internet and social media and everything else at the tips of my fingers.

However I am a writer, and times are changing in the publishing industry as we speak.
Sure if you want to become a traditionally published author, you will need to find a literary agent, because very few publishing companies will deal with an author directly.

These days you don’t need the publishing house behind you, you can self publish or indie publish or what ever the term is this week.

I am not saying it is as easy as uploading your work and thousands upon thousands of people will buy your book out of the gate.
It is like anything else, you will need to put a very extensive amount of hard work into it.

Times are changing and I am changing with them.
When my book is finished being illustrated, I will be self publishing it unless I get a book deal first, either way I am excited and look forward to what my future holds, or better put, what I will make my future hold.

8 responses to “Times Change

  1. Hi Jim, you are bang on with the amount of work required to get your book out there. I’m self publishing, self promoting, self technologifying, self social mediafying etc. etc. A lot of hard work but my aim is to do a bit each day and create a cumulative effect. I wish you luck with yours. I’m 47, so we’re in the same neighbourhood! πŸ˜‰

  2. Hey Stu
    It is daunting, but worth it.
    I don’t know if your on facebook or not but there is an invite only group on there called World Literary Cafe, it is founded by Melissa Foster a best selling author and she is very active on it and has many other resources. The group is filled with authors both published traditionally and self published, the goal is to help those of us with questions and mentoring. It has been instrumental for me on this road that we are on.
    If you are on facebook you should join.
    Thanks for taking the time to stop by Stu πŸ™‚

    • Thanks for that Jim, took a quick look but found it difficult to understand how to use or contribute there – I’m a techno dunce at the best of times and a social media novice! :-/

  3. just click join group on the top right under everyones pictures, then it is like any other fb page once your accepted in .I will caution you while you can ask any industry question you want they dont want you promoting your book or website but there are other pages for that

  4. You bet times have changed! I am older than you by a decade and feel it even more πŸ™‚ Good luck with your book.

  5. Its funny how time “speeds” up as we get older, isn’t it ?
    Thanks Madhu I started sending query letters out yesterday
    Thanks for coming by πŸ™‚

  6. Best wishes and it will be a huge success… πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

