Imagine

In 1971 John Lennon wrote a song called “Imagine”
The genius of John Lennon is astounding and we can learn a lot from this 3 minute and 3 second song.

He wrote,
“Imagine all the people”
Now I want you to do just that, imagine all the people in the world, there are seven billion of us now.
Out of the seven billion human beings on this planet, there is you a single person.

My question is, what can you do to make a difference?
It does not have to be some ground breaking discovery that will reverse the effects of global warming in a week, although that would be nice, and if you are working on it please do not stop πŸ™‚

It does not have to be something that will take up a lot of your time or use even a dollar of your money.
I think as we progress as a species and time becomes more of a commodity to all of us, we really need to stop and reflect a little bit.

What can you do to make a difference in other people’s lives ?
When is the last time you just smiled at someone?
When is the last time you held a door for someone?
And by someone I mean a stranger.

You will be surprised at how a simple facial expression, or “hello, how are you today” or any other random act of kindness will brighten someones day.

We are human beings, I feel it is time we become humans doing, doing nice things for each other.

John Lennon also wrote in his song
You, you may say
I’m a dreamer, but I’m not the only one
I hope some day you’ll join us
And the world will live as one

Please be nice to one another, be kind to strangers, and you will see how we will not have to “imagine” a better world, and how much better your life will be.

By the way may dear friends,
How are you today ?

15 responses to “Imagine

  1. Suddenly Jamie (@suddenlyjamie)

    Hello, Jim.
    I have always been a big believer in small kindnesses. They are what make the fabric of our lives comforting.

    Though I was painfully shy as a child, as I’ve grown older I’ve come into what I like to consider part of my genetic heritage: my father’s predilection for talking to strangers. He will talk to anyone anywhere about anything. He loves to notice things people are doing, ask questions, make jokes and small talk.

    Having watched him at this for my whole life, I could not fail to notice the way people light up when you take interest in them. Now that I am no longer kept silent by a lack of confidence, I go out of my way to engage strangers in friendly banter all the time. I compliment people on things when I am so inspired. It’s easy and fun and it can really make someone’s day. I simply stopped keeping my thoughts to myself. Instead of thinking silently, “I love that girl’s shoes,” I go up to her and say, “I love your shoes.” See? Easy!
    πŸ˜‰

    Thanks for the post. Nice reminder. Good on ya!

  2. Hey Jamie,
    Speaking from experience myself, it is easy. I talk to people I don’t know all the time, sometimes it is simply hey how are ya, other times small conversations, but I have found it not only makes these people happy but it brings happiness to me also.
    You certainly have been kind to me, Jamie. I am glad we have become friends.
    I know your ridiculously busy and I Thank You for stopping by πŸ™‚

  3. I cannot agree more, Jamie.
    We need down time from what we do, to be with the ones we love and to do things for ourselves.
    Thanks for the link I really enjoyed it πŸ™‚

  4. I can honestly say that I did both today, smile and hold a door, multiple times. And I LOVE that song! Thanks for the message!

    • Hey Jeff,
      Glad you liked it, I am even more happy you showed random acts of kindness multiple times. Its a good feeling πŸ™‚
      Thank you so much for stopping in:)

  5. My stepfather never met a stranger and I grew up watching him. I’ve been the same way most of my life because of it. I’m a woman, but I hold doors open for people all the time and carry on full blown conversations with total strangers at the drop of a hat. It just feels good to do it. I can see you are a sweet man and I just love that. You are so right that you can change the world or at least your little corner of it with so very little effort.

    I grew up in the Beatles era and Imagine has been one of my all time favorites for many years. I don’t know if you watch American Idol but this is an awesome rendition of Imagine performed by David Archuleta. Check it out if you didn’t see it originally. I’ve listened to it 100 times and it still gives me goose bumps!


    (I hope the link is good!)

    Great post Jim. I really enjoyed this.

    • Hey Ladywise,
      Thank you for your kind words, I like to think Im a nice guy.
      Showing random acts of kindness is not gender specific, actually nothing really is, its just certain people like to make things that way.
      I too grew up listening to the Beatles and still do.
      I did see David perform this originally on Idol and it is scary good.
      I am really glad you like what you have found here and hope to see you again:)
      Thank you for taking the time to stop by πŸ™‚

  6. Oh cool! I didn’t know that it would put the video right into the comment box. That’s awesome. lol I learn something new every day.

  7. Great post Jim and i love that song too. I too believe that a smile or a kind gesture towards strangers makes a difference.

  8. Nice one Jim, we don’t know how our interaction in the morning will make its way through the day and end up in the evening. We could be changing the world without even realising. πŸ™‚

  9. Hey Stu,
    I would like to think we are changing the world or at least having a positive impact on the people in our part of it.
    Thank you for taking the time to stop by πŸ™‚

  10. The Beatles had it right on that song and if we could imagine ourselves in others shoes, it might help our compassionate side…

  11. Hey Eliz,
    If people would just be kind to one another the world would be right as rain.
    Thanks for coming by πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

