There,Their,They’re


Although the above image is funny, it could not be farther from the truth.

It seems simple enough to use these three words, There,Their,They’re, correctly.
I see these three words misused all the time online, and I am sure you do too.
“I went over their” or “There coming to town”
like I said it is simple to use these words correctly.

There- Use there to refer to a physical or abstract place. Usually, if you can replace there with here in the same sentence, and it still makes sense, then you are using it correctly.

They’re- Use they’re as a contraction for they are. Usually, if you can replace they’re with they are in the same sentence, and it still makes sense, then you are using it correctly.

Their- Use their to show possession, commonly followed by a noun. Usually, if you can replace their with our in the same sentence, and it still makes sense, then you are using it correctly.

I do not know if these three words are commonly used incorrectly because of laziness or lack of proper teaching in our school systems, that seem to be more interested in how well our kids do on Necap and Newa for funding of the school.

It is my opinion that instead of putting so much pressure on our children to perform well on these standardized tests, we should just teach our kids how to use the English language correctly in the first place.

The rest will fall into place.

What are your thoughts?

Definitions courtesy of http://www.theretheyretheir.com/

16 responses to “There,Their,They’re

  1. Oh, in India I have seen these words used in the weirdest contexts! Then again our brand is Hinglish 🙂

    • Hey Madhu,
      I can understand why you would see that in India, it is almost a 50/50 split between Hindi and English, so the two languages will merge in peculiar ways I am sure.
      Thanks for stopping by 🙂

  2. Totally agree!
    *hugs*

  3. Thanks Hope,
    I think we should put a stronger focus on English in our school systems here. It is something that our kids will use for their entire lives.
    Thanks for stopping by 🙂

  4. Here Here ….. oh, no, I mean Hear! Hear!

  5. It bugs me to read a content with misuse of words. But then, I’m a victim of that sometimes. I guess you always check for your grammar

  6. Hey Moment,
    It bugs me too and trust me I am not immune to it either, just yesterday I typed right instead of write. I don’t mind errors now and again it happens but to completely disregard and not care kind of gets under my skin.
    What really gets to me are articles or websites on writing, that have grammatical errors.
    Thanks for coming by 🙂

  7. I completely agree with you about teaching to the test. Our children are not taught penmanship anymore and their spelling is atrocious. They count on spellcheck to fix everything and obviously spellcheck doesn’t distinguish between their, there and they’re in the context of the sentence. Thanks for the great info Jim. I’m passing your hints on to my boys.

  8. Hey Margaret
    The focus is on math which I do not understand, I get it is important but so is being able to count change and read a non digital clock which they dont teach our kids anymore either. Our language should take importance because if the web and computers ever fail language will be key.
    Thanks for coming by 🙂

  9. The image is hysterical… But you are right, we do need to pay attention to correct usage. Here’s one way I taught my ESL students to remember how to uses those words correctly – There they are, the bags are theirs! 😉

  10. Oops meant to write use not uses! Typo! 🙂

  11. lol it happens to all of us I commented the other day on a post a wrote “right” instead of “write” haha
    Thanks for stopping by eof737 🙂

  12. I’m a copy editor and I find editing my own stuff is difficult. We’re all human. When you don’t know what’s right and wrong, then you have a problem.

  13. Hey Karen,
    I agree that is a problem.
    Thanks for coming by 🙂

Leave a Reply

