Don’t Look Back

Time moves in one direction and that is forward; although there is no law of physics that states time cannot move backwards thus making the theory of time travel possible, until some brilliant physicist figures it out, time will remain to move forward.
We cannot out-run time it is a constant, we can only know for sure that it will keep moving forward.

What does this little physics lesson have to do with this blog? What does it have to do with our lives?
Well, let me tell you.

Time moves forward and so should we.
We should not dwell on the past, we should not second guess our decisions, or question our actions in hindsight.

We all have done it.
“If I had only left my house ten minutes earlier I would not be in this traffic”
“If I had played those numbers in the lottery, I would have won”
This is 100% useless to us, it only brings feelings of remorse and breeds negativity.

“What if I had chosen to write that novel ten years ago?”
Let me ask this,
What if we stop asking these questions, which will bring us no positive results, and start taking action TODAY.

Instead of wishing we had done something years ago, lets start doing it now.
Write that novel or pull the trigger and publish the one you wrote years ago.
Learn how to paint.
Figure out how to dance like no one is watching.
Go to college, or finish our degree.

Whatever it is that you wish you had done, do it, at least try.
I should have written my first book years ago, but I did not.
Why?
Who the hell knows?
But I have it written and edited now, and that is all that matters.

It does not matter that I waited so long, the only thing that matters is that I have done it.
So should be the same with you.

Some call it an ah-ha moment, I call it the day we realize we wont be here forever, and our time here is incredibly short.

So let’s get to it, lets move forward and stop wasting our time worrying about the past.

Don’t Look Back !!!

10 responses to “Don’t Look Back

  1. I love your positive outlook and spin on things Jim. I’ll be back to editing that novel now. Thanks for the push! πŸ™‚

  2. Thanks so much Margaret.
    I am glad your going to edit your novel, and look forward to reading it πŸ™‚
    Thanks for taking the time to stop by

  3. Thanks Arnel,
    We need to stay positive and move forward
    Thanks for coming by πŸ™‚

  4. AirportsMadeSimple

    So true! Thanks. I needed to hear that today.:)

  5. Your welcome, Deborah.
    Sometimes we all need to hear it I think, just to be reminded, I know I do.
    Thanks for coming by πŸ™‚

  6. Well said Jim. There is a vernacular proverb here about the pointlessness of looking back, that roughly translated goes “If only aunty had a moustache, she would be uncle” πŸ˜€

  7. Yes, it just holds us back… πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

