The Day That Went Horribly Wrong

Have you ever woke up and wanted to kill someone?

Yesterday, June 7, 2012.
I woke up at 6 a.m. like every other day, I went down stairs and made myself a cup of coffee and a bagel.
I gave my wife a kiss and left for work.

The drive to work was the usual; people driving like assholes, all in a rush to go sit at their desks.

I got to my job site, another day of pulling cable and digging ditches, well it sure as hell beats sitting at a desk all day. I finished work and started the drive home.
I stopped in at a gas station to fill up, $3.85 a gallon, and I need twenty-six gallons to fill up.
I could feel my blood pressure beginning to rise; I was starting to get angry, I thought to myself this is bullshit, why are the oil companies allowed to fleece us?

$100.01 later, I returned the nozzle to the pump and went inside to get a soda and a bag of chips.
Two eighty-five the clerk said to me, without even a please or thank you during this transaction.

On the way back to my truck I could feel my anger reaching it’s breaking point, then it happened, not being able to take it any more, sick of being ripped off, sick of people just not giving a shit, I snapped in the middle of the parking lot.

A young man pumping gas into his Ford Mustang did nothing more than look at me, I casually walked passed him and opened the passenger door on my truck, searching through my tools, I found what I was looking for.
I walked back towards the building, with his back turned to me, like the wind, without sound and all enveloping, I grabbed him by his forehead, and with one quick swipe of my knife, I stole the very essence of his being.
I let him slide to the ground; laying on the ground in a pool of his own blood, he was lifeless.

The screams of a woman at another gas pump attracted my attention and I hurried towards her; being too far away from me, she was able to get back into her car and speed off before I reached her.
I noticed she was on her cell phone as she pulled out into traffic.

I proceeded into the store; the clerk whom not only 10 minutes earlier did not have the common courtesy to say please or thank you to me when I purchased items from his store, was now begging with me.

“Please, please sir, do not hurt me” he pleaded.

Cowering in the corner holding a baseball bat, in a trembling voice the clerk said
“I have called the cops”
I walked up to him and asked; “what are you going to do with that bat?”
Before he could answer, I had the bat in my hands, it only took three blows to his head before he was gurgling air through his blood engulfed mouth.
On the fourth blow, Β he exhaled the last breath he would ever take on this planet.

Looking out the window of the store; there were three police cars in the parking lot, each with the driver’s side door open and a cop pointing their guns towards the store.

With my hands above my head, I walked out the front door yelling,
“he is inside, he killed the clerk, then he killed himself”
As two of the three police officers ran by me into the store; I subdued the third on his way by.

The other two cops came back outside; when they opened the door, the bullet of my ill begotten .45 caliber hand gun pierced the throat of the first cop and exited through the back of his neck, striking the second cop in the chest and knocking him to the ground.

Before the second cop hit the ground I fired without remorse, killing the third cop whom I had in a head lock, much like the young man with the mustang, I let the cop slide to the ground, to his death.
I walked up to the second cop who was injured and snuffed the life from him with the third of the 10 bullets in the gun.

Yesterday, June 7, 2012, is the day that went horribly wrong.

Ok, this has been an exercise in writing fiction and practicing hooking the reader.
Please tell me how I did.

12 responses to “The Day That Went Horribly Wrong

  1. lol, At 1sti wasnt sure if you was for real or not hehe hey with everything going on in the world today, you never know lol hope today was a better day πŸ™‚

  2. very, very creepy. You never know which one of will snap next πŸ™‚
    I reviewed a horror novel on my blog. Please come n see!

  3. WoW!
    I thought it was all real at frist.
    Well done, Jim.

  4. Hey Hope,
    Thank You so much, I am glad you thought it was real that is what I was trying for
    Thanks for taking the time to stop by πŸ™‚

  5. Gee Jim, I always thought of you as this peaceful, reasonable, logical guy that I could sit down with and over soda and a sandwich talk about our writing…and I still believe that. πŸ™‚

    Thanks for the adrenaline shot…

    Be encouraged!

  6. Great fiction, but you should have curtailed yourself to a punch. The stabbing gave the game away. No way I was going to believe you could do something like that πŸ™‚

    • now this was what I was looking for Madhu although I think over all it was good I see your point about giving it away too quickly.
      Thanks for taking the time to stop by πŸ™‚

  7. Bloody scary! Jim, this is dangerously good.

Leave a Reply

