The Double Edged Sword Of Blogging

The Good Edge

There are a lot of blogs out there in the blogosphere, I mean A LOT.
If you pick a subject, there more than likely is a blog somewhere on that subject.
It is a good time to be an interactive reader, where else can you find something that interests you and are allowed encouraged to give your two cents on it?

Some blogs like this one, not only encourage your comments, but allow them to be posted unedited.
That’s right, if you have something to say and are moved to leave a comment, they go up unedited for the world to read.
It is your freedom of expression and freedom of speech, and I do not impede on it.
Unless it is outright bullying, or vulgarity directed at another reader, if that is the case it wont be up for long.
I am happy to say this has not happened on this blog, and probably hardly ever does happen in general, and when it does happen chances are it’s just someone being an ass trying to cause drama for their own amusement.

Sliding Down The Good Edge Toward The Point

As I write post after post, every day my blog is seeing more and more visitors and gaining more followers, or subscribers, or as I call all of you friends.
Which as a writer/blogger is an awesome thing, because if you write and no one reads your work, what’s the point?
It really makes me feel ecstatic when you; my friends, share what you have read on this blog with your own social media channels such as twitter and Facebook.

The Point

Here we sit on the point, everyone is happy.
We are all publishing our original content, we are all being read, life is good.

I read a lot about content.
The “professionals” or “gurus” of the blogosphere all say the same thing.
They say that “Content Is King”
I say that is complete bullshit!!!
Bullshit, Jim you say?
Yes Bullshit.

I think most bloggers starting out ask the same question I did.
How often should I post to my blog?
Depending on who you ask, that answer varies.
Some will say, “you have to post every day”
Some say “you have to post multiple times a day”
They all say content is king, and I already told you my view on that.

Here is the key, QUALITY CONTENT IS KING.
There is no point in posting multiple times a day if we are posting just for the sake of following the content is king rule, if you have quality content and have the time and want to post multiple times a day then GO FOR IT!
It is your blog do what you want with it.

I personally will not post multiple times a day, because what I do post I want to give everyone the chance to read it.

The Bad Edge

As I gain more and more friends with this blog, I also follow more and more of you.
The more I follow, the harder it is to read every post you guys put out.
Please know, that just because I did not read your last post, does not mean I don’t read your posts.
I do stop by every one of your blogs as often as I can.
I follow over 300 blogs on WordPress, and do not have the time to read all your posts every day, but I do read them.

That my friends is the Double Edged Sword Of Blogging.

12 responses to “The Double Edged Sword Of Blogging

  1. I agree with you. I only follow about half of what you do and I spend at least 2 hours every day reading, liking, commenting, re-commenting on them. I want to interact more but as you say – there are only 24hrs in the day and I find I need 8 of them to sleep with! Maybe if aI quit my dayjob! Hmmmm??!!

  2. cynthia couture

    Jim; I love your blogs. I read them everyday. Do I have to tell you everyday that I read them and appreciate them? I’m telling you now. I don’t need to comment every day. You don’t need to respond every day. Your writing is the important thing! I’m not a blogger….I’m a blog-reader. Keep blogging!

    • Hey Cynthia,
      Thanks for reading every day I appreciate it.
      There is no need to tell me every day or any day unless you are moved to respond.
      Thanks for your support πŸ™‚

  3. Well said. I certainly cannot keep up with people who post every day or several times a day. And I agree – quality is king!

  4. Thanks Lady,
    Like I said If thats what someone wants to do go for it out of the gate it might work but I think eventually the quality will suffer.
    Thanks for stopping by πŸ™‚

  5. Brilliant insight, Jim. My blog is quite new and I’m trying to make it more and more visible to people, but I couldn’t agree more that content for the sake of content is BS. Subscribers are not stupid. if they see dumb content, they’ll simply stop visiting!

    BTW, I know you are following a lot of blogs, but could you please visit my new website (i just shifted my blog to self hosting)? and please follow or subscribe. thank you!

  6. Thanks Amritorupa,
    I would find it hard to have fresh content personally if I posted like that, perhaps if this was all I did I could pull it off but unfortunatley I do have to work so I cannot
    I am subscribed to your new blog πŸ™‚

  7. AirportsMadeSimple

    Hi, Jim – I think Cynthia said it nicely: she’s a blog reader. It seems there’s an audience out there who reads only! (I already forgot that. Since I write, I assume everyone writes AND reads). πŸ™‚ I agree with your points. I think of these blogs as books, not newspapers, don’t you?

  8. Hey Airports,
    Sometimes I think of my blog as one long sentence ha-ha.
    Thanks for taking the time to stop by πŸ™‚

  9. Well said Jim! I couldn’t have said it better… I don’t know where people find the time to post multiple times a day… I find it baffling actually as I can barely keep up with the hundreds of blogs I follow as well as manage my life offline… Oh well, to each his own! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

