What Happened To Howard Stern ?

Howard Stern in 2000.

Howard Stern in 2000. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Howard Stern was the hero for all us rebel 20 something’s looking to kick the world in the balls so hard that everyone noticed.
He was the voice everyone wanted to tune into, just to hear him drop the “F” bomb on live radio.
Then he went to satellite radio, where he was free to say what he wanted without fear of being fined by the FCC.

This is when he lost that special spark he had, because on terrestrial radio it was taboo, not to mention illegal to swear on live radio, and that is why we listened.

Sure he kept a good portion of his audience, but some of us left, because to hear him drop the “F” bomb was something we never heard before, then when it happened all the time without repercussion it became boring.

Now Howard Stern is a judge on Americas Got Talent.
He went from being something no one wanted to touch, to truly being
“The King Of All Media”

To be perfectly honest I think Mr. Stern is a pompous ass.

However I do admire the man.
I admire him because he knew what he wanted, he decided he wanted to be at the top of the food chain in his profession, and he is.

When he set out on his career to rule the airwaves, he played by the rules, he did what he was told, and he did not like it.
Then he finally decided to make a name for himself, to not follow the rules, he wanted to stand out.
Now his name is known by most people, granted some still consider him that foul mouthed asshole from the radio.

His name is about to become a house hold name even more so than it is now, and at the end of the day that I think is all he wanted, and he has achieved it.

There is a lot to be learned from Howard Stern.
He has taught us that if we want something, we need to go get it, because sure as hell, nobody is going to just give it to us.

He also taught us perserviernce is key.
He had a lot of people trying to stop him, hell he had an agency of the Federal Government try to stop him.
It did not work, because Mr. Stern refused to be stopped by anybody.

He kept his eye on the prize, and now holds it.

That is what happened to Howard Stern.
He knew what he wanted, and he made it happen.

That my friends is what we need to do.

Sometimes we cannot play by the rules, because they simply are not fair.
We did not make the rules, and they sure as hell are not made for our best interests all the time.

It does not matter what you want out of the journey you are on.

Does it matter if you want to be an author, an artist, an actor, or the best damn forklift driver that has ever lived ?

No it does not.

What does matter is, that we need to make some noise, we have a voice, we need to make people hear it.
Go get what you want, do not let anything or anyone stop you.
Be who you want to be, be yourself.

That is what I am doing and I will not quit, not as long as I have a single breath left in my body.
I will get to where I want to be.

I want to see you there!!!

14 responses to “What Happened To Howard Stern ?

  1. And Jim…I’ll be with you every step of the way…count me in Brother.

    Be encouraged!

  2. Inspiring. As Ali said when asked what he would have been if not a boxer, he replied: “The Best!’. πŸ™‚

  3. Very inspiring post, Jim!

    Oh and BTW, i shifted my blog to its own website, please do come and have a look! and please follow!

    http://riversihaveknown.com/

  4. And if I try my best and can’t get what I want, maybe I’ll try that forklift operator thing. Very nice, Jim. Always inspiring.

  5. Hey Karen,
    I dont think you need to worry about becoming a forklift operator. I really enjoy the way you write.
    Thanks for Coming by Karen πŸ™‚

  6. Doing his thing on Sirius? πŸ™‚

  7. Hey eof737
    yes he still is on sirius, and quite good on Americas got talent so far.
    Thanks for stopping by πŸ™‚

  8. This is very fascinating, You are an excessively professional blogger. I have joined your feed and stay up for in the hunt for more of your wonderful post. Also, I have shared your website in my social networks

  9. First off welcome to my blog SEO.
    Thanks for your kind words and for sharing me in you network.
    Thanks for taking the time to come by πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

