Set The World On Fire

As I wander the crowded streets, watching all the people not really watching what they are doing,
instead they are on their phones checking in on facebook, or tweeting away.

Some I suppose are pinning their favorite things on Pinterest, while others are adding to their circles.
Some undoubtedly are checking emails for work, some are answering or sending text messages.

Then there is a man or woman, who stands out on these crowded streets,
you know the type,
dressed for success, in clothing which screams….. “money does not matter”.

They have so much confidence, they leave some on the sidewalk as they go about their business.
They are on their phones and actually using it for what it was designed for, making phone calls.

I watch as they casually side into their Mercedes or BMW and drive away, and I think to myself
They set the world on fire.

There is no big secret on how to do this.
Go to college
earn a degree
send out resumes
get a job, the world should now be on fire….. right?

WRONG!!!

There are plenty of people who attended Harvard College with Bill Gates and actually graduated, who have nowhere’s near the success that Mr. Gates has, nor did they set the world on fire.
For the record I am not condoning not going to college or dropping out, not at all.

On the other hand we have Stephen King, who did graduate from college and is one of the most successful, if not the most successful author of his time.

These two men have a lot in common, while being complete polar opposites.
What they have in common is,
they saw what they wanted,
and they went after it, they did not stop, they did not let anything get in their way, and what did get in their way, they found a way around it.
They set the world on fire.

Now you have me, Jim.
I know what I want, I am going after it, I refuse to let anything hold me back.
The propellant is already there, the match is in my hand.
I am about to set the world on fire.
Check this out

Photo courtesy of http://pixeltango.com

9 responses to “Set The World On Fire

  1. WordsFallFromMyEyes

    Fantastic! 🙂 I love the picture of the world on fire though – where EVER did you get that?!
    I know I haven’t set the world on fire but I guess not everyone is born with a pack of ‘matches’.
    Noeleen
    http://www.VodkaWasMyMuse.wordpress.com / http://www.WordsFallFromMyEyes.wordpress.com

    • Hey words,
      I found it at http://pixeltango.com and loved it.
      We are all born with matches just not all of us chose to strike them, which is ok it is all in what we individually want.
      Thanks for stopping by, I hope to see you again 🙂

      • WordsFallFromMyEyes

        You will see me again, Jim – I had an interesting visit. Thank you so much for the link. I bet there’s more interesting stuff there too 🙂

  2. I love your positive attitude, Jim.
    *hugs*

  3. Thanks Hope,
    Big news coming tomorrow 🙂
    Thanks for coming by

  4. A positive attitude is half the battle won.!

  5. Hey ladyfi,
    It makes all the difference
    Thanks for stopping by 🙂

  6. Perseverance. I read your post and that’s all I kept thinking about. Keep on keeping on…

  7. Hey Carmen,
    perseverance is key to any success, that’s for sure.
    Thanks for taking the time to stop by, I hope to see you again 🙂

Leave a Reply

