Time To Sink Or Swim

When we were moving into the house we live in now, which by the way is right next door to my wife’s parents house, which really is not as bad as it sounds.
Sure her parents come over and just walk in like it is their house, which can be aggravating, but I have come to be used to it.
Because they live right next door, we have someone to sit with our daughter pretty much whenever we need someone to sit with her, so it kind of evens out.

Anyways, when we were moving in, my mother in law offered to watch my youngest who was two years old at the time, and her four-year old cousin.
Just so that it would be easier for us to focus on moving in, and my sister-in-law was moving into the house we were leaving on the same day, so it was a family effort.

When I pulled into my driveway with the final load of our possession’s, I heard a grunting sound in my in-laws back yard, so I looked over the fence.
I saw my niece standing by the in ground swimming pool acting rather peculiar and just grunting, with no one else around.

Sensing something was wrong, I jumped the fence and ran to the pool.

What I saw when I got to the pool still scares the hell out of me to this day.

I saw my two-year old gift from God floating on her back, and with water in her mouth gurgled out, help me daddy.
After I pulled my daughter from the pool, it seemed as if an entire ocean of water came out of her body.
Because her grandmother made the mistake of telling the girls to wait outside for her while she put on her bathing suit, my daughter at two years old, had been put in a situation where she had to choose to sink or swim.
Thankfully, she knew enough to float on her back and not let the panic, (which I am sure she must have had), overcome her.

She chose to swim.

I thank God, that he put me where I needed to be when my daughter needed me the most.
I am happy to tell you that my daughter swims like a fish now, she is so comfortable in the water that it is often very hard to convince her it is time to get out.
She is a lot like me in many ways, when she decides she wants something she goes after it with everything she has in her, she lets nothing stop her from achieving her goals.

As I have told you before, my book is ready, well at least what I can do with it, writing the story that is done.
I am currently seeking an illustrator, because I cannot draw a straight line, even with the help of a pencil and a ruler.
I should have someone to illustrate my book for me soon, and then its off to publishing with kindle.
It is time for me to sink or swim.
I am choosing to swim.

12 responses to “Time To Sink Or Swim

  1. Reading this gave me goosebumps, so glad you were there at the right time.
    Holding thumbs about the illustrator.

  2. So, so scary! I’m so glad she survived! And that you were there at the right time, divinely so. Saying a prayer for the right match with an illustrator.

  3. Hey Arnel
    It was scary, the whole thing in slow motion like you see in the movies is real something I really dont want to expierence again
    Thanks for your prayers and for stopping by πŸ™‚

  4. Wow Jim…what a wonderfully written blog (I say with tears in my own eyes). I’m thankful she chose to swim, and I’m sure you will do awesome in your efforts “not to sink”, as well. I look forward to reading your book! Many congrats!

  5. Hey Expert,
    Thank You so much, It is always nice to hear my words have an impact.
    Thanks for taking the time to stop by πŸ™‚

  6. You’ll do well – you’ve got your daughter to emulate.
    Well written post: casually pulls you right under. Intense. Good job

  7. Hey Phil,
    Thanks so much, as both my daughter and I get older, the harder it is to keep up with her πŸ™‚
    Thanks for taking the time to come by πŸ™‚

  8. AirportsMadeSimple

    Wow, Jim. I’m glad your daughter is ok. I wonder sometimes why we have to go through some of the things we do. I try to be funny, and many times it’s because of some of the major traumas I’ve experienced. So everyone has a story and hopefully it helps others–such as your book! I’m sure it’s great and kudos to you for writing it. πŸ™‚

  9. Thanks Airports
    your right everyone does have a story, some are heart wrenching for sure but some are absolute joy too. I hope my book is something children will enjoy, because I certainly enjoyed writing it.
    Thanks for your kind words and for stopping by πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

