I Was Born This Way

In 1969,  Creedence Clearwater Revival wrote these words in the song
fortunate son.
“Some folks are born silver spoon in hand,
Lord,  don’t they help themselves”

It got me to thinking,  although I love CCR
(it brings up fond memories of sitting in the family room with my father, listening to them on the record playing stereo we had,  not to mention they are incredibly awesome)
I was not born with a silver spoon in my hand,  far from it.
I was not born this way.

In the same song they also wrote
“Some folks are born made to wave the flag
Ooh, they’re red, white and blue”

In 1986,
I enlisted in the U.S Army Reserve,  at the tender age of 17,  on the delayed entry program.
When I got out of high school,  I went full time active Army.

I fulfilled my obligation to my country,  and after six years of service decided, that the Army life was not what I wanted.
(But I am glad I had that experience)
Turns out,  I did not want to carry a gun off to a foreign land.
I was not born this way.

After that,
I toiled at various factory jobs,  I worked as a metal grinder,  a spray painter
I did some sales,  door to door sales (what was I thinking? )
I even worked at an apple orchard, making apple cider.

I eventually worked for Lego as a forklift driver.
But I really did not want to do any of these jobs,  they paid the bills,  they put food in my stomach.
Again I was not born this way.

Then I found cable,  you know,  what brings us television programming,  the internet and telephone service.
I got a job installing it as a contractor,  my first taste,  sort of,  kind of,  working for myself.
The money was ridiculous,  we were a commodity.
We made in a week,  what most people made in a month.
I went in,  I got my assignments,  then went to work,  I loved it.
Nobody watching me,  no one telling me “go do this” or “go do that”
If I stood in one spot for more than ten seconds.

Then it happened,
we were no longer a commodity,  the systems were built,  they took the money away,  which led me to actually owning my own company.
I still own it.
But alas this is not what I want to do.
I was not born this way.

This post is inspired by Lady Gaga’s song “Born This Way”
In her song she wrote
“My mama told me when I was young
We are all born superstars”
This is true, we all are, do not doubt that fact,  not even for a second.
We just need to find our true calling.

Lady Gaga also wrote,
“I’m on the right track,  baby
I was born this way”

I am a writer,  writing is not what I do,  it is who I am.
Writing is what I am meant to do,  writing is what I want to do,  and I am doing it.
I have been a writer my whole life,  it just was not my job,  it was my passion.

Now I want writing to be my job,  and it will be.
I am a writer,
I was born this way.
What were you born to do ?

13 responses to “I Was Born This Way

  1. Great post! I am now discovering that I was also born to write. At 40, that’s not too late is it?? Lol. And thank you for your service to our country. Very much appreciated!! 🙂

  2. Hey Expert
    No I do not think it is too late, I am 43, keep doing what your doing, chipping away at the stone, eventually it will crumble.
    Service to our country was my pleasure, I did like it but not enough to make it a career.
    Thanks for stopping by 🙂

  3. Loved this post Jim. I also love CCR, my mother played them when I was little and now I have a CCR best cd in my car, when I’m in the mood I listen, know all the words too 🙂 What was I born to do? scuplting, painting, creative stuff, that sort of thing…
    *Hugs*

  4. Hey Hope,
    Glad you like this post Ive got CCR taking up a decent amount of space on my ipod
    Thanks for stopping by 🙂

  5. Hey Jim,
    Wrote about CCR this week too! Listened to this song on the ipod shuffle during the grass mowing too. Born to be a writer as well. Also born to improve the quality of life for a group of elders I love. Who could ask for anything more?

  6. Hey Train,
    You did, when you and your husband used to go camping If I remember correctly, you really cannot ask for more when your doing something you love.
    Thanks for coming by Train 🙂

  7. Jim –

    I’ll let you know what I was born to do as I’m in the process of figuring it out. Though I write pretty prolifically, I still think there is something beyond that for me.

    Love CCR – you are only one year older than me, so it rather makes sense that CCR was part of my history too. 😉

    Love this post!

    Casey

  8. Hey Casey,
    Please let us know when you do find out 🙂
    Thanks for coming by

  9. is this in refrence to my peter pan joke?

  10. I think I was born to be a photographer, but the problem was making any money at it. I sometimes wonder if the fun might have gone out of it if I had made it a job. Now I’m retired and get to play to my heart’s content. Lovin’ it!
    Found your blog through Hope’s. I think I’ll ‘follow’.. ;

  11. Hey Gunta,
    Welcome to our community, I know it is a tough decision to go from what makes us happy to what makes us money.
    Ive heard the saying ” Do what you love and the money will follow” Glad you are enjoying your retirement 🙂
    Thanks for stopping by please feel free to stop by anytime you like, we would love to see you 🙂

Leave a Reply

