Hello You, This Is Me

Hello You, This Is Me
I started this blog about a year ago, when I started it, I was consumed with writing about what I thought people would want to read.
By doing so, I found that it was not much fun, none at all. I was so worried about getting traffic to my blog, that I forgot why I write in the first place……. for me.
It has come to be more of a chore than a joy ………….well, that’s about to change!!!
In the past year, I have run into some really great writers and have become friends with them, albeit we have never met offline, I still consider these people my friends.
One of these friends, Jaime Wallace (whom has helped me immensely, when she didn’t have to, and I don’t know how I could ever return the favor) wrote a great post called
Blog like a honey badger, it is one of the best posts I have ever read (and I read a lot) you should read it, because it is very good.
It hit me like a ton of bricks, I said to myself, she’s 100% right, what the hell am I doing ?
Just the other day Jamie tweeted to me
” Caring about what you write is SO important – passion gets the good stuff on the page!”
that was like getting hit in the head with a sledge-hammer, it became so clear………Hello You, This Is Me

Why am I writing about stuff I don’t care about or have no interest in ? The short answer…. to get subscribers and traffic to my blog, well my posts have suffered a lot because of it……lets face it, they were mediocre at best.
That is a hard pill to swallow, knowing that everything you have done in the past year, from a writing standpoint anyways, pretty much sucked, but I’m cool with it and it has made me stronger.

Hello You, This Is Me
Another great writer I have come across is Sean Platt, he put a guest post up today on his site called
Everyone is a Writer: How to Stop Thinking, “I’m Not Good Enough” Forever
After I read it, I was like, are Jamie and Sean reading my thoughts ? because seriously, I was about to give up.
Sean has a ton of awesome stuff on his site, you should check it out.

Hello You, This Is Me…..I write because I love to, not because I have to.

I have a children’s storybook currently that I am working on and hopefully someday soon parents will be reading it to their children before bed.

Hello You, This Is Me…..I dont follow convention when I write, I’m not saying im going to butcher the living hell out of the English language, but if I miss a comma or something on my blog, I’m not going to lose any sleep over it, but I will do my best not to.
I’m going to write about what I want to write about, stuff that will make me happy, and proud, and be able to say, hell yeah I did that, no more fluffy BS or textbook style posts here.

Hello You, This Is Me
My goal is to become a published Author it definitely is a craft, putting words together has always come easy for me, especially in poetry. Now…. putting the correct form with these words, well….. that’s another story, but I’m getting better at it.

Hello You, This Is Me
you can find me right here on facebook

you can also follow me here on twitter and I will follow you back

Hello You, This Is Me…..nice to meet you.

4 responses to “Hello You, This Is Me

  1. So glad to hear you’re finding your groove, Jim. That’s the first step.
    Congrats on staking your claim on being you.
    And, of course, thank you for the kind words. This is the beauty of social media – connecting to others and being able to do a “stranger” a good turn, making that stranger a friend.
    🙂

    Write on!

  2. Hey Jamie,
    It really was liberating writing this post, and I had a lot of fun writing it, something I haven”t had in quite a while now in what I write.
    I’m really glad we have become friends
    As always thanks for stopping by Jamie 🙂

  3. Pingback: Kinda Makes You Think? « Following The Dream

  4. Pingback: Homepage

Leave a Reply

