Death of a Giant, Goodbye Borders

The big-box bookstore has called it quits, and although I feel bad for the 19000 or so people who are about to lose their jobs, I am happy to see Borders go. I mean how many small mom and pop bookstores closed because of them and other giant outlets? Did anyone care as these small bookstores disappeared? Certainly not the CEO’s or chair people of these corporate giants.

The giant bookstores are convenient in a world where the “we need it now” attitude prevails. In fact we do not need a book that we want right now, if it is needed that quickly, that desperately should we not be going to the library? Is that not what libraries are for?

I personally have never bought a book or other type of media from one of these corporate bookstores. I have always had really good libraries where I live,  and small mom and pop owned bookstores, which by the way usually have what I am looking for if not its always a one day wait, and I do not buy books online as I prefer to go to the bookstore and get what I want and really enjoy going, a bookstore smells…. well, like books, you don’t get that online its not only about getting what you want its also about the experience.

So Goodbye Borders books and good riddance

4 responses to “Death of a Giant, Goodbye Borders

  1. Suddenly Jamie (@suddenlyjamie)

    I have to admit that I’m not all that sad to see Borders go.
    My daughter and I are frequent visitors to our local library (though more for me, because it takes me so long to finish reading a book these days that I’m better off buying).
    Though I do buy from Amazon for my Kindle (which, surprisingly, I love), if I need (or want) a “real” book, I buy from my favorite indie bookstore – Jabberwocky of Newburyport, MA. I can spend all day there – just nosing around, reading random pages, running my fingers across the fresh covers. They also have a wonderful “discount” room called The Green Room where a bibliophile can have marvelous treasure hunts. 🙂

    So, I’ll bid Borders adieu alongside you, not a tear in my eye (except for the people now out of work) … and look forward to my next visit to Jabberwocky … where the real book people live.
    😉

  2. Hey Jamie,
    Glad Im not alone on this 🙂
    I also like the treasure hunts you find in indie stores and the personal attention you get and the intimate feel in general not to mention people who know books.
    Thanks for stopping by

  3. Suddenly Jamie (@suddenlyjamie)

    Always a pleasure, Jim. 😉

  4. Pingback: A Lament for the Big Box Bookstore- Good night Borders « Zombies Vampires and other Freaks

Leave a Reply

