Tornado From Afar

Today 6/1/2011 a tornado ripped through the small town of Monson Ma,    causing a lot of damage in this small New England town.

I grew up in Monson and now reside in Rhode Island, and I have a lot of family and friends there.

The telephone service both landline and cellular are out in town so getting in touch with my family and friends has been cumbersome to say the least.

All I could do is watch updates on the news and hope to hear from people I know. Driving out to Monson was out of the question as roadways in that part of Massachusetts are impassable. I will probably head down there to help with the clean up either Thursday or Friday.

Thankfully I have heard from most of my friends and family, I still have not heard from a couple of people so we are hoping and praying for them.

It really is nerve-wracking not knowing and information was slow for a while,

but thanks to Facebook I was able to get updated through other friends in surrounding towns.

Be thankful for what you have because it could all be gone in an instant.

Photo’s courtesy of Lance Milltowntattoo Ferrell

Leave a Reply

