Graveyards

Halloween is over, and this post has nothing to do with Halloween.
I love graveyards especially historical graveyards. Here in Rhode Island we have many dating back to the 1600′s. I love the peace and quiet of a graveyard, where the only thing you can hear is the wind. I go out of my way to find these places, some are in great condition, some are overgrown, and then some are vandalized which really bothers me.

I do not do rubbings of the gravestones, it just seems a bit invasive of the final resting place of these people, but I do take pictures of the gravestones, like these ones I took today.

I also like to research local legends and go visit these graveyards too,  because I find legends and the paranormal intriguing. We have a few Vampire legends dating back to the early 1700′s here in Rhode Island.
We have the legend of Mercy Brown and Sarah Tillinghast just to name a couple,

I have visited both Mercy and Sarah’s gravesites and I feel a little uneasy at Sarah’s. Like all good legends there is some absolute truth mixed with what may be a little less than the truth and that certainly holds true with these two vampires.

Speaking of Vampires, I am writing a novel about them, the working title is
“Hunting Humans, Before The Dawn”
It is nowhere near finished but I will keep you all updated as it progresses, and let out little teasers for you.

6 responses to “Graveyards

  1. Graveyards always make my mind think in overdrive about life.

  2. I have always enjoyed walking quietly through a graveyard. It helps me wake up to how I need to live my life.

  3. Hey Livvy
    A lot can be learned in a graveyard thats for sure
    Thanks for stopping by :)

  4. I used to take a shortcut through a graveyard taking my kids to school when they were small. We shared some fascinating conversations.

    • I really enjoy going to graveyards and I like the legends some have with them Sheila, and its a whole different ballgame when you’re in one after dark your mind really can get away from you at night in a graveyard.
      Thanks for stopping by :)

Leave a Reply

