Rejection

I have been querying literary agents rather frequently in the past few weeks for my book,
The Teapot And The Trumpet.
I have written a great query letter and personalize it to each agent I send it out to.
In the midst of sending out these letters and waiting to hear back from them, I got my first rejection letter.

I will not say whom the rejection was from, as I feel that would be unprofessional, while she was professional and prompt with an answer to my query, (she got back to me the next day)
I will say that she didn’t reject my manuscript because I did not send it to her, her guidelines clearly state not to unless she requests it.
She simply said she was not a good fit for this type of book, and I was happy to at least have an answer (waiting is the hardest part)

I know I will be receiving more rejection letters but it will not stop me, it won’t even slow me down.
It is part of the business and a part you must be willing to accept if you are trying to get a book published.

I don’t consider this or the other rejection letters to come as a failure, we only fail when we stop trying, and I won’t ever stop, I don’t think I could if I wanted to, it is not how I am. Remember, failure is just the starting point for success.

It is rather funny, more ironic actually, that I have chosen to become published.
Growing up I was always afraid of being told “NO”
“can I have some soda?” NO
“can I do this?” NO
“can I have five dollars?” NO
I was so afraid of it in fact that I often wouldn’t even ask, I would just go without.
It is not that my parents were overbearing vicious people, who liked to see me suffer, it was just that everything had to have a purpose.
Soda was to be drank with meals, I really had to have a good reason to go somewhere, there was no hanging around because that’s how you get into trouble, and money, well, they worked for it, and so should I.
It wasn’t until later in life that all that made sense.

Sometimes in the deepest, darkest part of our being is where we find the strength to figure out who we are, and what we want, it is those who have the courage to go there and come back to the light that succeed.

I am going to get to where I want to be, won’t you please join me, and get to where you want to be?

13 responses to “Rejection

  1. That’s the spirit!!! Cheers Nonoy Manga

  2. Thanks nonoymanga, glad you liked it
    Thanks for coming by :)

  3. i will try to learn from my mistakes.i don’t want to leave my mistakes.

    • Hey business letters,
      Welcome to my blog, I am glad you found it.
      It is imperative that we learn from our mistakes so we dont make them again.
      But I think what is just as important is not leaving any lose ends in our past.
      Thanks for coming by I hope to see you again. :)

  4. keep up the positive attitude Jim. You give us all courage and hope.

  5. Hey Margaret,
    I am glad I do that, thank you for saying it. I also hope to give people not only the drive to chase their dreams but the guts to get behind the wheel and just take them over .
    Thanks for taking the time to stop in :)

  6. Take heart – you seem to have the right attitude. Writers like actors and artists need a thick skin and a belief in their work.

    • Thanks Lynne, I will , I have pretty thick skin you need to to do this, I got 2 more rejections since I wrote this post, that means I am 2 more closer to a YES :)
      Thanks for coming by Lynne.

  7. I love my fellow bloggers…just look at these attitudes…all upbeat, positive, go-getum! You gotta love it.

    Behind you a 100% Jim.

    Be encouraged!

  8. Keep on truckin… Some of the most popular books today were rejected many, many times.

  9. Hey Eliz,
    I will keep trucking for sure, I read it may take up to 100 queries before you get a yes, and thats ok because the 99 before them are the one who will miss out.
    Thanks for stopping in :)

  10. Pingback: Work Humor: 8/8/2012 « Mike's Take…

Leave a Reply

