What Were You Born To Do?

Do you know what you were born to do?
I hope that you do, but it may not be as easy as that for all of us.
I have been searching for that answer my entire life. What I thought I was born to do is irrelevant, why you ask?
Because I was wrong at what I thought I was born to do, but that doesn’t matter because it is in the past and it does us no good to dwell on the past, what if, what if, what if, it will drive you fucking insane.

Instead we need to look at our present, but not for too long, because it will soon be our past.
So we need to look at our future and decide what it is we really want to be doing, what we were born to do.

We were all born to do something and make an impact, I truly believe that.
We are all here for a reason, I personally do not believe we are here by coincidence.
The only thing that matters is that we try to figure out what we are born to be doing, and I don’t think any of us were meant to toil in someone else’s factory while they get rich and we just get by.

If you have figured out what you were born to do that is great, if not don’t give up, never stop trying, the only person you will let down is yourself.

Barry and Robin Gibb wrote to love somebody, the open line describes me today.
Theres a light, a certain kind of light, that has never shone on me.
My finger is on the switch, I am about to turn that light on.

10 responses to “What Were You Born To Do?

  1. I imagine there’s more to learn, but Today I can at least list Mommying, Writing, and Ministering among my fellow addicts as things I was born to do. God’s got a plan (and a sense of humor!)—we’re still finding out what it IS. :)

  2. Suddenly Jamie (@suddenlyjamie)

    I always envied Jodie Foster’s character in “Contact” – she had a single purpose, a mission. She was able to devote herself fully to that cause. I wouldn’t want to turn my life into a one-dimensional quest, but having a sense of purpose would be nice. I’m working on it. It changes day-to-day and season-to-season. :)

    • Hey Jamie,
      I dont think we should ever turn anything into a one dimensional quest, although I think at times we might for the interim, and that’s ok that’s how work gets done ;)
      Thanks for taking the time to stop by

  3. “and I don’t think any of us were meant to toil in someone else’s factory while they get rich and we just get by.” This wisdom dawns a bit late unfortunately. As to what we were meant to do…as long as I am enjoying what I do, i assume that is what it is :-)

  4. i struggled with this question because i thought what i was born to do meant finding an occupation i was happy in, but i am realizing that what i am born to do is to find out how God Wants to use me to serve His Purpose, which opens up a world much bigger than where i aspire to work

  5. Hey yalandarose,
    Welcome to my blog, I hope you like what you find here :)
    We all need to work, but our “job” may not be what we were born to do, but then again it might be for some. I wish you the best on figuring out how God wants you to serve his purpose. I know you will :)
    Thank you for coming by please stop by anytime.

Leave a Reply

