8 responses to “We Are So Busy

  1. Well, to unwind as well as trying really hard to increase my serotonin levels and become more positive, I have joined a walking club will blog about it later, but that is my unwind/revitalize time now :)

  2. Hey Hope,
    Good for you for taking a positive stance in “you time” cant wait to read about the experience
    Thank you for taking the time to stop by :).

  3. You already know how I feel about this, Jim. :)
    I’m guilty as charged re: making myself busy on some days, BUT I am also making a conscious effort to get unbusy as often as I can. Sometimes, all it takes is telling myself, “You got this. Don’t panic. It’s all gonna work out.” and then giving myself permission to take a quick breather during the day instead of barreling through like I’m on some kind of life-or-death mission.

    To keep myself grounded, there are five things I do on a mostly daily basis:
    1. Morning pages (a la Julia Cameron from The Artist’s Way) – writing a little at the start of each day helps me clear my head AND get my creative juices flowing.
    2. Yoga – done at home, usually with my cats getting all in the way of my downward facing dog ;)
    3. Time with friends and family – some quality time with my daughter and my beau, my daily phone call with my mom, a joke exchanged with my dad, banter and such with my online peeps … all that and a bag of chips.
    4. Walking – I’m not uber-consistent about this, but I do start most days (especially work days) with a 30 – 45 minute walk. Lately, I’ve had the pleasure of doing this on the beach because my daughter’s camp is right down the street.
    5. Learning something new – there is always something new to discover, explore, dissect, ponder … a day doesn’t go by that I don’t learn at least one new thing.

    And if I feel like I’m about to have a midday panic attack, I stop, breathe, and bounce on my exercise ball: http://nhwn.wordpress.com/2012/06/13/writing-isnt-enough-authors-must-also-master-public-speaking/ :)

  4. Hey Jamie,
    That is what I am talking about making time for ourselves.
    I am guilty of it too although I do work a lot I need to get back to doing things I enjoy such as getting to the beach with my daughter.
    Thanks for the link that was a really good post, i am sure our friends here will enjoy it as much as I did.
    Thanks for coming by, Jamie :)

  5. Meditation. Exercise. and just sitting helps. ;-)

  6. Yoga is my recipe for destressing.
    I agree with you though about technology not really helping reduce the time we spend on jobs! I detest having to go through a toll free number and recorded messages to sort out most of my service related issues. And one call is never enough!

  7. Oh yeah having to wait on the phone irritates me to no end “your call will be answered by now and the time you die” really? with prices for everything at all time highs you think they could employ a few more people.
    Thanks for taking the time to come by Madhu :)

Leave a Reply

