Do Not Give Up On Your Dreams

Dreams
We all have them, we all have something in which we would like to aspire to be.
For each and every one of us those dreams are different, and some would seem unattainable.
If that is what you think; that they are unattainable, then in fact they just might be, negativity brings negative results.

When I was a kid I dreamed of being a professional baseball player.
I played baseball all through high school, and had plans on trying out for the Boston Redsox after finishing high school.
Then I got out of school and never pursued that dream.
Well, I guess I never really wanted it to come true in the first place, because if I did want it to come true, I would have at least tried to make it happen.

I also wanted to be a guitar hero; playing on stage in front of thousands of fans at a time, touring the world.
I begged and begged my parents for a guitar, and they bought me one for Christmas when I was eleven years old.

I took a couple of lessons and bought a book full of chords, I was on my way.
I never learned how to play the guitar to the point where I could do it professionally, and then did not pick one up for twenty years.
It seems that dream was just that, a dream. It was my decision not to pursue it.
Although, I do now own three guitars, and I love to play them, I do not regret not becoming a professional guitarist, I mean look at the those who did make it, those people have led tormented lives for the most part.

All my life I have written things, poems, short stories, songs.
I have always wanted to write, always dreamed of becoming a published author.
But things get in the way sometimes, it is called life.
I got married, I got divorced, I got over it.
I got married again, had two daughters, bought a house, got two car payments every month, a dog two cats.
These things all take money, the dream faded into the night, so that I could provide for my family.

That dream of becoming a published author faded, but did not extinguish.
Now, the dream is alive and well, and burning like the sun.
I write for this blog, weekly.
I have been asked to write a few guest blog posts.
My children’s book is completely written, and is now being illustrated.
I will be publishing my book very soon, it is to the point where I need, and actually can set a release date.
I have decided to make my book the first in a series of children’s books, so I will begin working on the next one after I publish the first one.

I have also outlined a novel and will be working on that too.

I am on the road to becoming a published author, I am not only following my dream, I am living it.
I did not give up on my dream,
please do not give up on yours,
find a way,
make your dreams happen !!!

15 responses to “Do Not Give Up On Your Dreams

  1. Suddenly Jamie (@suddenlyjamie)

    Our true dreams are revealed by our actions.
    Though we may like the IDEA of being or doing some things, the things we actually DO and BECOME are the things of which dreams are made. :)

    • So true, Jamie.
      That reminds me of the song Don’t Look Back by Boston, dont, worry about what you might have been, instead focus on what you will be :)
      Thanks for taking the time to stop by Jamie :)

  2. Brilliantly said, this is so true – keep after those goals, ambitions and dreams through taking constant ACTION!! We have to BE something BEFORE we can DO something, but we must eventually DO something in order to realise our dream life. Well done to you and your determination and drive. I’m rooting for you. :)

    • Thanks Stu,
      Henry Ford said ‎”You can’t build a reputation on what you are going to do.”
      The key to that is you must take action as you said.
      Thanks for stopping by :)

  3. Your positivity is inspirational, Jim.

    • Hey Hope,
      I try to stay positive all the time even in the bad times, sometimes its hard but so worth it to stay positive. positive actions bring positive results and negative actions bring negative results. I dont do negative very well haha.
      Thanks for stopping in, Hope :)

  4. Thanks Jim! Lovely post.

  5. Thank You Arnel,
    I am glad you liked it
    Thanks for stopping in :)

  6. Great post Jim! I truly believe that we can do whatever we put our minds to, within limits of course. The key is to want something badly enough.

  7. Greta advice… and best wishes on the new book. TY!

  8. Thanks eof737, glad you enjoyed it :)
    Thanks for stopping in

  9. Pingback: The Roaring Twenties |

  10. Pingback: Aspirations, Hopes, & Dreams « Honestgoodadvice's Blog

Leave a Reply

