Failure Is Just The Starting Point For Success

Failure is not an option, so they say.
What “they” do not tell us is, without failure you will likely not achieve much success.
I know you are sitting there having just read the opening to this post saying, what the hell are you talking about Jim?

Well, what I am talking about is, failure is an essential part of any success, including life, and we should not let it discourage us or scare us.
Instead we should embrace failure, failure is how business’s grow, failure is how writers become published authors, failure is how garage bands become signed world touring bands.

Failure is how we learn, its that simple.
Just look at a baby learning to stand
a baby will stand up and then promptly fall down, he or she just failed at standing.
The baby will do this over and over until he or she finally learns to stand on his or her own two feet.
SUCCESS!!!!

Albert Einstein who is arguably the smartest and most successful scientist in the history of the world, did not learn how to speak until he was four years old.
Mr Einstein didn’t read until he was seven. One of his teacher’s described him as “mentally slow, unsociable and adrift forever in his foolish dreams.”
Einstein was expelled, he was refused admittance to Zurich Polytechnic School. The University of Bern dismissed his Ph.D. dissertation as being irrelevant and fanciful, FAIL, FAIL, FAIL, FAIL.
Then E=mc2 and he achieved great success.

Dr. Seuss, one of, if not the biggest author of children’s books, wrote his first children’s book, “And to Think That I Saw it on Mulberry Street”
this book was rejected by twenty-seven publishers, FAIL.

Then Vanguard Press published it and sold six million copies of the book, lets do the math, carry the one SUCCESS!!!

Failure does not have to be the end of what we are trying to achieve, in fact we only truly fail when we give up.
I have failed, I failed at landing a writing gig, did I let it stop me, no I did not.
I have a children’s story book I am currently working on and I can’t wait to let you read it.
When it is finished, I will query publishing agents and I will fail, but I will continue to look for a publisher and in the end I will find success.

Failure is just the starting point for success,
Failure just means you had the guts to try.

15 responses to “Failure Is Just The Starting Point For Success

  1. I hear what your saying, and I agree with the principle, but the word “failure” to me sounds negative. Instead I prefer not to point out peoples “failings” but to suggest if things didn’t work out down that route how you expected, then simply navigate the path to a new direction.
    Have a great day and thanks for the morning read ;)

    • Hey Sonia,
      while the word failure is indeed a negative word (and I do not allow myself to be negative) we do not have to let it be negative in our lives and our work.
      Instead we should use it as a catalyst to propel us to great heights as we seek our own individual success, whatever that success is.
      Thanks for coming by, please stop by anytime :)

  2. Pingback: The Way to Success | Girls' Power Initiative (GPI) Benin City, Nigeria

  3. I think you are being realistic. Getting published takes time and energy and a measure of luck.

    Really there are no “good” things or “bad” things that happen, just different levels of experience. Some we call good, some we call bad.

    There is a Zen saying that is appropriate to your idea: I fall down seven times and get up eight.

    There really is no failure, if you just keep getting up.

    As far as getting published goes…I wish you all the best.

    • Thank you Casey, I am chipping away at that publishing stone, I will get there, I will find out what is on the other side of that door that stands before me.
      Every time I get knocked down I come up swinging that’s for sure,

  4. You have to make a ton of mistakes before getting it right….without failures, no learning will take place – no developing problem solving skills if it always works the first time…and if there are only successes, a creeping fear that you won’t sustain it may freeze you. So hey, don’t worry – just fall down and get up! Enjoy all the journey. Good post

    • Phil, that’s exactly my point, life is full of failures it is how we learn, and that creeping fear of success not sustaining itself is always there, but even more evident if you achieved success without much effort.
      Thanks for stopping by :)

  5. Awesome article! You are of course, right. And what about Thomas Edison, and all his failures? There are countless stories like this. Success comes when you don’t give up. Great post! Glad I found it.

  6. Hey Allthingsboys, Im glad you found this too, more importantly I’m glad you enjoyed it :)
    You are right, there are countless people who have enjoyed great success and failed (sometimes miserably) getting to that success.
    Thanks so much for stopping by :)

  7. I just recently came across a Thomas Edison quote:

    “I have not failed. I have just found 10,000 ways that won’t work”

  8. Casey, that is an excellent quote I find lots of things that dont work thats what life is all about and what makes it fun :)

  9. Hi Jim! Like the post. Most people who are truly successful have encountered pain, disappointment, and failure–sometimes to the extreme–or they wouldn’t have learned what they needed to learn to get where they needed to go. Anyway – a small point to add: Colonel Sanders was 74 years old when he “successfully” sold his franchise/chicken recipe. :) I’ll bet a lot of folks who knew him before the age of 74 would have considered him successful. :) It’s a journey~

  10. Pingback: Inspiration: Embracing The F Word… | Mirth and Motivation

  11. Hey Airports,
    That is true most have endured some extreme tribulations to get where they are. It is sad how the Colonel got ripped off.
    Thanks for stopping by :)

  12. Pingback: Rejection | Where The Grey Matter Pours Out

Leave a Reply

